Gallery

Eat food that your grandmother would recognize as food

Italian olive oil, both oil and an oil bottle ...

Image via Wikipedia

There have been some discussions about this article on the internet. Dr. Dwight Lundell argues that the low-fat diet is what is making us fat. His main argument though,  is that low cholesterol diet is not going to prevent us from having heart attack. Here is a direct quote from his closing argument;

«What you can do is choose whole foods your grandmother served and not those your mom turned to as grocery store aisles filled with manufactured foods. By eliminating inflammatory foods and adding essential nutrients from fresh unprocessed food, you will reverse years of damage in your arteries and throughout your body from consuming the typical American diet.»

I agree with Dr. Lundell who has actually written a book on the matter, that we should stick to food. In his TED talk  Jamie Oliver addresses the issue and talks about that there is a 3rd generation in America that does not eat home cooked meal. I have never avoided fat. I use regular milk and butter.

I don´t drink milk I just use it for my coffee and when I bake.

I use loads of good olive oil. Cold press,  first press. In the morning I use Udo´s choice in my shake. The few times I drink soda it would not be diet. We make food from scratch with vegetables and recognizable ingredients. It has worked for me.

I read some time ago Michael Pollan´s  Food rules,  book  that explained amongst other things what isles in the shop to avoid. Avoid the middle! The processed food occupies the middle.

One of his foods rules is;  «don´t eat anything that your grandmother would not have recognized as food. For me this makes sense.

4 responses to “Eat food that your grandmother would recognize as food

  1. I totally agree; now with all these additives, chemicals, sugar substitutes, high-fatty foods and refined-sugar-based products – that are out there – our grandparents would be shaking their heads at us. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  2. Tilbaketråkk: Be tankful for the food | wholisticme

  3. Tilbaketråkk: Slow down and chew. | wholisticme

Legg igjen en kommentar

