More Ken Robinson

I posted a video of Ken Robinson’s lecture from 2006, in my post thanks for the support. I think he is a brilliant lecturer. Here is the lecture he gave at TED in 2010:

Be what you are

What he is addressing is so important to us, especially when it comes to our children. Not everyone Wants to go to College. I have a son who is a drummer. He has been a drummer since he was 3 or four years old. I have no idea why. I forced him to play the accordion for two years. But when he was twelve he got his first set of drums. Luckily we lived in a house that had space for the drums. But he has known that he was a drummer all his life. I´m sorry to say that I don’t have the pictures of him surrounded with  pots and pans on the floor. Screaming a heavy metal song at age four. Wearing nothing but a wool sweater and a hat.

My older daughter is an artist. I have no idea where she will land because she is  multi talented. I have a picture of her work that alway´s  amases me.

This is a piece done on  nails with nail polish;

Pretty amazing!

I had this vision when I was younger. I wanted to become a sports teacher. But when I was at the sports academy I found out that I found it rather boring. My world collapsed. It gets like that when you have had in your mind for a long time, what you want to do. And then  it isn´t there anymore. That was kind of confusing. At least for me it was. I did not have a plan B. But to study business seemed the logical thing to do. And education is never wasted. What ever I do, my business education is always going to be relevant.

It has taken years to find out what I want to be when I grow up. I have not reached a decision yet. But I think I have alway´s  been a storyteller. But then something or someone told me that I could not be a storyteller and I quit. That is my theory anyway.

The thing is, we are the best people to decide what is best for us.

6 responses to “More Ken Robinson

  1. haha the nails are so cute

  2. Your comments about knowing what you want and getting disillusioned hit home. I had that same experience and then didn’t know what I wanted to do. My challenge had been that now I will spend the rest of my life paying off student loans for a degree I’ll never use and shouldn’t have been pursuing in the first place. It gets demoralizing.

    On a more positive note, those nails are amazing!

    • It is frustrating when education is terribly expensive to, enroll in something that you have no use for! But I think education is never totally wasted. At least we meet nice people on the way. The nails are amazing (I know I am biased)

  3. Reblogged this on cerebralhealth and commented:
    Check it out if you have an interest in ‘educating’…. Don’t we all?

Legg igjen en kommentar

