Sugar is the white death

This is a statement from Cancer Truth:

Sugar is *NOT* your friend. It may feel like your friend when it comforts you (due to the beta-endorphin rush in your brain), but sugar is actually your enemy. Truth be told, regular consumption of sugary foods is one of the worst things that you can do to your health.

Here you can read the whole » Sugar is the white death» article on cancer truth.

One of my favorite scientists Dr. Robert H. Lustig is participating in these educational videos from the University of California

Dr. Lustig has also been on 60 minutes talking about his research. It is inspirational to hear him talk against the food industry. He is stepping on many toes. My prediction is that there will be  a massive kickback from those who have no sense of social responsibility  and poison their fellow-men guilt free.

The first video I saw by Dr. Lustig is one hour and twenty-nine minutes. It is mind-blowing. He is turning everything we have believed about calorie intake before upside down.

So why do I think this is a big deal? Sugar is a drug. Why do I say that? I have been a drug addict and my drug of choice was sugar.The «problem» is that I did not gain weight. That sounds delightful doesn´t it?  You know what?  My body doesn´t  think so. Thanks to an excellent dentist the consequences can not be seen. The damage to my digestive system is something I have to pay attention to every day. Sugar overconsumption is not  friendly to the body, not even if you don´t gain weight..

But all in all I am thankful for the lesson. I have only one life. I have to try to live it in harmony with my body and my surroundings.

I put all three videos under «videos» if you want to safe them for later.

12 responses to “Sugar is the white death

  1. You speak the truth, Holistic Me! We eat so much more sugar than our ancestors did, because it is so easily attainable, and it’s in Everything! We feed too much sugary food to our children, too, and start training them early in bad eating habits (and, I just did a post on that. 🙂 )

  2. Wow, wonderful information!!!! Thank you! I’ve only watched the 1st video so far, but the most interesting part was what he said about the developing world. Now I really want to do more research on it, because it is something that is never talked about. Uh, the amount of soda that was ‘forced on me’ in Kenya is simply sickening to think about…and I hate soda, but had no choice but to drink it out of simple politeness… I am also glad they included – for the second – that 40% of thin people with problems. Now I am a sugar addict (in forms of chocolate & baked goods, not twinkies, but still), yet, very very thin, so I often get weird looks when I talk about m y steps on trying to eat healthier and eat less sugar…’you are so skinny anyways, you don’t need to diet’…but that is not the point…

    • I think times are changing and the internet is a contributor, when we only had TV and newspapers it was easyer to direct information. Now we can get peer views through youtube and blogs and form an opinion.Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts, your holistic Aurora

  3. Yes, so important to get this information out!! I will come back and enjoy the videos when I have more time. Thanks for posting!

  4. Thank you for following my blog, Let Life in Practices. I love this post! I look forward to reading more.

  5. Dr. Lustig I never heard about him before. He really is amazing – this was a real eye opener!! Great videos, thank you!!

    • Someone posted the longest video on facebook ,at first the length was intimidating but I sat though the whole thing it and was amazed, glad you got to know Dr. Lustig .-holistic regards Aurora

  6. Say it isn’t so!!!! I think I am going to plan a big farewell party for sugar.

  7. Sugar is truly a very important enemy for those of us who wish to remain alive a bit longer. The sugar-cancer connection is so strong it should certainly give us pause before we pick up that sugar spoon.

    http://healthyprotocols.com/2_sugar_and_cancer.htm

Legg igjen en kommentar

