My kidneys are smiling

Can you picture that? A smiling pair of kidneys?

That is what it feels like. I am blessed with a family unit that sometimes just leaves me alone. My husband took our ten-year old to see friends yesterday. That gave me space to gather all the things that I need sorted out before I leave, in less than a week. When things pile up , my stress level goes up and my kidneys start complaining. It feels like lover back pain but I have gotten to know my kidneys quite well through my journey and I listen. I want them to be smiling.

My daughter spent the night at a friend’s house  and now  my husband  is off on his motorcycle so I have a second day in my own quiet universe. Today I have had coffee made by  my favorite barista Alex. I rewrote two pages of my novel. Then I went  to a second-hand bookstore and found a book I ´ve been waiting to see, I was surprised it was already in the second-hand store. It is «Advanced style» by Ari Seth Cohen. Here is a video clip of the lady´s in the book. They are just lovely. 

I know I should not buy more books! We have started to pack our things, we got a price for the move back to Iceland and it is EXPENSIVE! So we are trying to shrink what needs to come with us. But I could not resist.

People find us odd

Sometimes people find it odd that we are not glued together alway´s. My husband loves his motorcycle and takes frequent trips. I love to relax or maybe just take my girls on a small trip. Who says the family unit does have to be glued together at all times?

Extrovert vs. Introvert

I am an introvert and I recharge when I am alone. My husband is an extrovert and he recharges when he is with other people. That is why we like , not to be together always.  If I were to be on his schedule all the time I would soon burn out. As he gets older he can sometimes dwell in my quiet world for a moment reading. But that lasts for a brief moment and off he is!

I want to leave you with a thought on introverts, by Susan Cain

Have a good weekend!

5 responses to “My kidneys are smiling

  1. I think you have a great life balance together and I am glad you have smiling kidneys. 🙂 Congrats on getting two pages done.

  2. LOL, slow progress….but….

  3. I love those ladies 🙂
    It is important to let each other live and enjoy different things! I am sure you have lots to talk about when he comes back from his road trip and you have finished 2 more pages of your book. Wonderful!!

    • I have been having a blast reading the book, these ladies are such an inspiration one of the quotes; «you never know whom you may meet on the way to the mailbox» from Ruth 100 year old that never leaves the house without being perfectly dressed. Just love all those lady´s.

Legg igjen en kommentar

