The native american sweat lodge

I am thankful for the beauty of the native american sweat lodge

I am thankful for all the lovely people who I spent last night with. We went on a journey together without knowing what would happen. It started out by the fire in the midst of the Icelandic nature. Then we swam in the Atlantic Ocean before entering the tent. The tent is built with a native american sweat lodge tradition in mind. With guidance from them.

The fire and the tent ©snorri

the glowing hot stone inside the tent ©snorri

The sweat was a healing experience, the stones used are heated on the fire. Little by little the stones are carried into the tent. When the first stones are in the tent the tent is closed and inside is total darkness. The foreman puts water on the stones to heat up the tent . The sweat was five rounds with chanting and drumming in the spirit of the native Americans. Even though I don’t understand the words of the chanting it releases energy and the discomfort of the total darkness and the unbearable heat is a personal victory.

After the sweat we enjoyed a meal together, to regain energy so that we could drive home. After the spiritual journey and cleansing I was beat. I crawled into bed and slept for ten hours.

I am thankful to be able to experience things like this, I am thankful for the people who were with me on the journey in their vulnerability and strength. I am blessed.

2 responses to “The native american sweat lodge

  1. What an interesting experience!

Legg igjen en kommentar

